top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Boots Own Skincare Range Review

A few months back I discovered that Boots have brought out their own skincare range, they've brought out 8 new products:

Gylcolic Toner, The Hyaluronic Acid Moisturiser & Serum, Salicylic Acid, Vitamin C, Bakuchiol Serum and Hemp Seed Oil.

So I thought I would put some to the test, I got two products: Glycolic Toner & The Hyaluronic Acid Moisturiser, one I loved & one not so much..

Lets start of with the packaging, I love how simple and plain it is, no fuss just straight to the point skincare, although I've got to admit it is still a little old school Boots Chemist dont you think?

Gycolic Toner -

This I just didn't love and I LOVE a glycolic acid, ever since I've used glycolic I've always noticed a difference in my skin, it feels more brighter, softer as it helps with texture due to it's exfoliating factors and overall a more radiant complexion. Usually when I try gylcolic straight away normally I can feel it tingle which is what I love, this however, nothing.

I just don't feel like this toner did that for me, what jumped out first to me was the price £5 for 100ml of a gylcolic toner I would say is pretty good, although in the week I was using it I just didn't notice any change in my skin. You may think well 5/7 days isn't long enough. I just want to share a quick story on my experience with glycolic and how I fell in love with it:

I was on holiday a few years back and had a breakout around my chin area, I knew exactly what it was, it was the SPF I was wearing - all day every day. Naturally my skin got clogged, think about it your sat all day in the baking sun with a think white factor 50 SPF on your face naturally your skin will clog. So I decided to try the infamous Pixi Glow Tonic which I'd heard so many amazing things about, I did and the results spoke for themselves within days my breakout was practically gone and my skin just overall looked great - it gave me so much confidence and that was in a matter of days.

Now I managed to find out the PH of the product but not the percentage I did read that it may be less than 1% (not sure for definite) and has a PH of 5.3, if I am being completely honest I wouldn't expect great results from this, if you compare this to Pixi Glow Tonic which consists of 5% Gylcolic and a PH of 4/5 - a lot more stronger hence why it works.

Got to keep it 100 guys so I'm giving this 1/5 stars

The Hyaluronic Acid Moisturiser

This by far is a winner for me, I love how ultra lightweight this is and absorbs in instantly, I have used this pretty much since purchasing it in January and now its practically empty. I love how quick and easy it is too but also as is does contain HA (Hyaluronic Acid) which is amazing for our skin, it gives our skin that gorgeous plumped up, juicy skin that we all know and love, although I'm not able to find the exact amount of HA in the product even if there is only a small amount of HA, this will still be effective as HA can hold 1000x it's weight in water. One thing I would say if you are on more of the dryer side, this may not work completely for you, you might want to look at a more richer moisturiser but on that note I'm giving the moisturiser 4/5 stars.

Price is on point again £5 for 30ml which I would say is completely worth it, the whole range reminds me a little of the Ordinary or Revolutions new skincare line, lets be real can a brand ever replace the Ordinary?

Both products are Vegan and not tested on animals.

I am really impressed with the moisturiser and will definitely be checking out more of the range, of course when lockdown in over!..

bottom of page